Governors Awards 2018

Governors Awards 2018

The Governors Awards are an annual ceremony, which celebrates awards conferred by the Academy’s Board of Governors. The recipients are announced during the summer, but they are honored at a gala party in November or December – just a couple of months before the main Academy Awards ceremony.


The first Governors Award ceremony was held 10 years ago, in November 2009. Now, a decade later, we are having a look at the winners’ list and some of the best dressed celebrities during this year’s ceremony.

The Academy Honorary Award (which represents an Oscar statuette) for extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state in motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy was given to Cicely Tyson, Lalo Schifrin and Marvin Levy.


Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall got the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award (which represents Thalberg’s bust on a plinth) for creative producers whose work reflects a consistent high quality of motion picture production.


From the red carpet looks, we are definitely going to remember Lady Gaga in Valentino, Rosamund Pike in Givenchy, Carey Mulligan in Dolce & Gabbana and Soirse Ronan who looked stunning in a white Calvin Klein 205W39NYC dress.


Another ten points for Chadwick “Black Panther” Boseman’s bold Versace outfit, Lily Collins in a cosmic George Chakra Couture dress, Felicity Jones in Miu Miu, Emily Blunt in Dundas with husband John Krasinski in Prada and Emma Stone in a custom Louis Vuitton gown.


Which is your favourite look du night?